Where to find me at Wiscon

WisCon year four! It’s happening very soon!

Here’s my schedule:

Friday: NAIL POLISH SWAP at the Gathering, 1:00-3:45 pm

Sunday: Trans Body Positivity, 10:00-11:15 am

Sunday: Navigating Body Positivity While Non-Binary/Genderfluid/Genderqueer (moderator), 10:00-11:15 pm

First off, I am thrilled to be running the nail polish swap again this year. It seemed to go over really well last time and I’ve already heard from a few folks that they’re excited for it to happen again. This is pretty much the ideal situation, and as long as they want me to do it I’ll be happy to make it happen every year I’m there. If nothing else, it’s really fun to have the chance to nerd out about nail polish with a bunch of people who are as excited about it as I am. I’ve been Birchboxing for a few months and I’m also going to bring a few samples of things I’ve gotten through there and can’t use.

You may notice some…similarities between the two panels I’m on. When I was entering my interest in being on panels, I honestly didn’t expect that both of these would happen, so I put my name down for both. Not that there aren’t different angles to discuss in relation to binary vs. nonbinary trans experiences and how they related to feelings about one’s body! I just figured that these two ideas would be fairly easy to smoosh together into one topic, so it was a bit of a surprise to find out that I’m on these two very similarly-themed panels.

It may be that what we focus on at the later panel depends on a) what’s discussed in the morning panel and b) how many people in the audience chose to attend both. I guess we’ll see what happens! It will be my first moderating experience and to be honest, I’m pretty nervous about that, but I figure it’s a good idea to just jump in the deep end and moderate something so I can get the first time over with and feel less worried about it if I’m asked to moderate in the future.

The one great tragedy, scheduling-wise, is that there’s a panel ALL ABOUT HOW GREAT SELFIES ARE and I will not be able to be on or attend it, as it’s at the same time as the trans body positivity panel. Alas! However: I pledge to talk about and take selfies all weekend, and will be happy to talk about how great they are when given half an excuse, so I will be doing my best to uphold selfies in my heart even though I can’t take part myself.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

